June 26, 2022
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    SAARC FINANCE Group Meeting and Governors’ Symposium held in Colombo

    July 25, 2014

    The Central Bank of Sri Lanka hosted the 28th SAARC FINANCE Group Meeting and SAARC FINANCE Governors’ Symposium at the Central Bank of Sri Lanka on 24 July 2014. The 28th SAARC FINANCE Group Meeting was attended by Governors and Finance Secretaries and other delegates from the Central Banks and Ministries of Finance in the SAARC region.

    Following the SAARC FINANCE Group Meeting, the SAARC FINANCE Governors’ symposium was held, where discussions took place on the theme “Unwinding of Unconventional Monetary Policies and its Impact on Emerging Market Economies”. The Governor of Central Bank of Sri Lanka, Ajith Nivard Cabraal delivered the opening address while the Governor of Reserve Bank of India, Dr. Raghuram Rajan, made the key note address. Each SAARC country also made country presentations, highlighting the direct and indirect impact of unwinding of unconventional monetary policies on Monetary Policy management in their respective countries.


    SAARC FINANCE is a permanent body at the level of Governors of Central Banks and Secretaries of Finance of SAARC member states as approved at the twenty-second session of Council of Ministers in Kathmandu, June 2002. The objective of SAARC FINANCE is to Issued By Date Economic Research Department  24.07.2014 promote cooperation among Central Banks and Finance Ministries in SAARC member states to forge closer cooperation on macro-economic policies of SAARC Member States and to share experiences. SAARC FINANCE submits a report to the SAARC Council of Ministers through SAARC Finance Ministers, while SAARC FINANCE meetings are held at least twice a year.  


    Seated from the left: Mr. A R.M. Nazmus Sakib, Additional Secretary - Ministry of Finance, Bangladesh , Mr. Dinesh Sharma, Additional Secretary – Ministry of Finance, India, Mr. Syed Ishaq Alavi, Director General - Monetary Policy Department, Afghanistan, Dr. Atiur Rahman, Governor, Bangladesh Bank, Mr. Daw Tenzin, Governor, Royal Monetary Authority of Bhutan, Dr. Yuba Raj Khatiwada, Governor, Nepal Rastra Bank, Mr. Ajith  Nivard  Cabraal, Governor, Central Bank of Sri Lanka, Dr. Raghuram Rajan, Governor, Reserve Bank of India, Dr. Azeema Adam,  Governor, Maldives Monetary Authority, Dr. P.B. Jayasundara, Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Sri Lanka, Mr. Kazi Abdul Muktadir, Deputy Governor, State Bank of Pakistan, Mr. Krishna Prasad  Devkota, Joint Secretary, Ministry of Finance, Nepal. (HC/SI)


    long bannar

    Latest News

    dgi log front