May 29, 2022
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

    South Asia Ozone Officers Network meeting held in Colombo

    May 28, 2014

    The  meeting of the South Asia Network of Ozone Officers was inaugurated on Tuesday (27) by the Minister of Environment and Renewable Energy Anura Priyadarshana Yapa at the Grand Oriental Hotel in Colombo.  Deputy Minister Abdul Cader was among those present.

    The meeting organized by the United Nations Environment Programme (UNEP), Compliance Assisstance Programme (CAP) in collaboration with the National Ozone Unit will be held until May 30.  40 delegates representing South Asian countries are participating in the meeting.


    Sri Lanka acceded to the Vienna Convention for the Protection of the Ozone Layer and ratified the Montreal Protocol on Substances that Deplete the Ozone Layer in 1989 and its subsequent amendments between 1990 and 1999.  Sri Lanka continues to be an active country in the phasing out of ozone depleting substances and is well ahead of developing countries in fulfilling the Protocol requirements.


    Member countries of the Network include: Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, India, Iran, North Korea, South Korea, Maldives, Mongolia, Nepal, Pakistan and Sri Lanka as well as Japan and United States.

    South Asia Ozone Officers Network 2
















    South Asia Ozone Officers Network 3

    South Asia Ozone Officers Network 4

    South Asia Ozone Officers Network 5


    dgi log front