May 29, 2022
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook


    JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with ID: 47

    Six Football Legends Felicitated

    June 17, 2014

    It was a day for former National Football Players to meet one another when they participated at the Ex National Football players friendly matches and later at the get together held at Baddagana  FFSL Complex on Sunday (15).

    The two matches played in 2 age groups over 40 and 50 was captained by Mohamed Amanulla, M. Kaber, Nimal Wijesekera and Sumith Walpola. The players displayed their skills and the fans were enthusiastic to witness their former national football players performing with much vigor.

    The winners were awarded Mayor's Cup and medals. Mohamed Zahir of Victory fame scored 3 goals reminding of his 3 goals scored in Singapore in 70s. Many yester-year National players played well reminding their talents.

    The 6 Football Legends P.D. Sirisena , L. A. Ranbanda, HA Jayatissa, Subani Hasheemdeen, S.P. De Silva, Piyadasa Perera were felicitated and the plaques were presented by FFSL President Ranjith Rodrigo.  

    The organizers Ex Captain and National Coach Sampath Perera, National Players Alfred Dias, Thilak Alponso, Joseph Shanthi Kumar should be complemented for bringing together over 100 Ex. National Football Players to a common front.
    Ranjith Rodrigo, the President of Football Federation outlined his desire to support the former players who had contributed for the development of the game and briefed them on the current Football Development plan and request them to assist him in his endevour to reach the desired goal in Football in the future.(KH/SI)

    dgi log front