May 08, 2021
tami sin youtube  twitter facebook

      Sri Lanka has consistently supported to safeguard the inalienable rights of the Palestinian people - Hon. Speaker

    April 22, 2021

    Speaker Mahinda Yapa Abeywardena said in Parliament that Sri Lanka has consistently supported to safeguard the inalienable rights of the Palestinian people and their right to an independent sovereign state based on the UN Security Council Resolutions.

    Sri Lanka extended its fullest support towards Palestinian’s application for admission as a full member in the United Nations proving that a friend in need is a friend indeed said Speaker Abeywardane.

    He said this while speaking at the meeting of the Palestine -Sri Lankan Parliamentary Friendship Association for the ninth Parliament held  (20) in Parliament.
    The meeting was held under the patronage of Hon. Speaker, H.E the Ambassador of State of Palestine Dr. Zuhair Mohommad Hamadallah Dar Zaid and Secretary General of Parliament Dhammika Dasanayake and was attended by Ministers, State Ministers and Members of Parliament.

    The Speaker further said that “Sri Lanka –Palestine Diplomatic relations run back to over four decades and the Embassy of the Palestinian Liberation Organization – PLO - was opened in Colombo on 01 st July 1975. Subsequent to our recognition of Palestine as a State in 1988, the Embassy of the PLO was renamed as the Embassy of the State of Palestine on 6 th February 1989.’’

    “Since 1968, Sri Lanka, as the Chair of the United Nations Special Committee on Israeli practices affecting Human Rights of the Palestinian people and other Arabs of the Occupied Territories, has been one of the most significant voices at the United Nations on the subject of the unfortunate conditions of the Occupied Territories’’ the Speaker added.
    “Another expression of the very close and cordial relations existing between the two countries is that the establishment of the Mahinda Rajapaksa Vocational Training Centre in the State of Palestine which would enhance the Human Resources Development of the State of Palestinian and I must reiterate that Sri Lanka is ready to extend its helping hand towards the uplifting of your people in the future too” said the Speaker.

    At this meeting, Parliamentarian Dr. Suren Raghavan, was elected as the new Chairman of the Sri Lanka- Palestine Parliamentary Friendship Organization. Member of Parliament Mujibur Rahuman, was elected as the new Secretary and MPs Major Sudarshana Denipitiya, J. C. Alawathuwala and Marjan Faleel, were elected as the vice presidents. In addition, MP Weerasumana Weerasinghe, was elected as the Treasurer and MP G. G. Ponnambalam was elected as the Assistant Secretary.

    Last modified on Wednesday, 21 April 2021 23:13

    dgi log front